Jasa Backlink Murah

Sports activities banquet to honour distinctive contributions to Wooden Buffalo athletics

Article content material

The Wooden Buffalo Sports activities Corridor of Fame (WBSHF) and Wooden Buffalo Sports activities Connection (WBSC) are teaming as much as host the first-ever Multi-Sports activities Award Banquet on the Shell Place Ballroom on Thursday.

Commercial 2

Article content material

The collaboration “will acknowledge extraordinary individuals inside our nice area within the enviornment of sports activities excellence,” stated Jon Turner, WBSCS chair in an April 10 information launch.

The banquet brings collectively athletes, groups, volunteers, coaches, and officers below two classes: excessive efficiency and neighborhood.

The occasion will acknowledge 4 inductees into the WBSHF and 9 recipients of WBSC awards, all of whom have demonstrated extraordinary achievement in sports activities excellence inside the Wooden Buffalo area.

“The winners may have the honour of being the primary to ever obtain certainly one of these prestigious awards,” stated Turner.

The 4 inductees into the Corridor of Fame embrace Josh Dow, Janet Hatfield, Graeme Killick and Compton Vigilance.

Commercial 3

Article content material

Josh Dow is a famend swimmer who established seven provincial data and captured 11 gold and 4 silver medals on the nationwide stage over 14 years of competing. Whereas swimming with the College of Calgary Dinos, he set a record-breaking time of 25.76 within the 50-meter backstroke again in 2016, making him one of many quickest Canadian males within the long-course 50-m backstroke.

Janet Hatfield is a basketball participant who led the Father Patrick Mercredi Group Excessive Faculty Trappers to 3 consecutive Problem Cup titles. She performed post-secondary basketball for the Grant MacEwan Griffins and the College of Victoria Vikes in U Sports activities. Hatfield completed her U Sports activities profession ranked as a High 10 athlete and later performed skilled basketball in Germany and Denmark.

Article content material

Commercial 4

Article content material

Graeme Killick began cross nation snowboarding at age 5 and made his debut on the worldwide stage on the 2009 Nordic Junior World Ski Championships. He recorded 35 top-10 finishes, together with 11 podiums and 4 victories in Nor-Am Cup. Turning into Fort McMurray’s first athlete to compete in a Winter Olympics, Killick raced at Sochi in 2014 and Pyeong Chang in 2018.

Compton Vigilance, a real builder on the earth of sports activities, has coached basketball for 3 many years at Fort McMurray Composite Excessive Faculty, after which guided the Keyano Huskies girls’s basketball crew to an Alberta Schools Athletic League title. Vigilance has influenced numerous athletes, coaches, and officers all through the years, and has an area soccer pitch and highschool award named in his honour.

Commercial 5

Article content material

“We’ve deep and wealthy historical past of sport within the Wooden Buffalo area, every of our inductees have proven dedication, respect and perseverance as they’ve competed, constructed and mentored on the highest stage,” stated Matt Pate, president of the Wooden Buffalo Sports activities Corridor of Fame.

The nominees for the WBSC awards embrace 23 people and 4 sports activities groups.

The Male Athlete of the 12 months award honours a person who has excelled in competitions. The 2023 nominees are Gage Roberts, Tristan Parker, and Hunter Colombe.

The Feminine Athlete of the 12 months award acknowledges a feminine novice athlete who has excelled at competitions. The 2023 nominees are Alicia Gladue, Dylan Wiesner, and Taylor Breen.

The Crew of the 12 months award acknowledges a crew that has excelled at a provincial or nationwide stage. The nominees for this award are Keyano Huskies Basketball, the Cricket Crew, and the U13 AA Jr Oil Barons.

Commercial 6

Article content material

The Coach of the 12 months award honours a Nationwide Teaching Certification Program (NCCP)licensed coach working on the native, provincial, nationwide, or worldwide stage. The 2023 nominees are Keith Breen, Jeremy Wielenga, and Mike Cox.

The Excellent Official award acknowledges somebody officiating sports activities who has additionally contributed to the event of officers on the native or regional stage. The 2023 nominees are Darren Yee, Annette Hammermaster, and Marcus Erlandson.

The Particular Olympics Athlete of the 12 months award acknowledges an area competitor who has demonstrated vital private and athletic development in 2022. The 2023 nominees are Marcel Baron and Colt Wendel.

Along with these larger efficiency awards, there are additionally a number of neighborhood awards, together with the Developmental Coach of the 12 months, Sport Builder, Unsung Hero, and Group Spirit awards.

Commercial 7

Article content material

The Developmental Coach of the 12 months class honors an individual who’s answerable for creating the aggressive expertise of athletes on the grassroots, regional, or provincial stage. The coach will need to have created an setting for optimum talent improvement and enjoyable and have accomplished or be working in direction of NCCP certification. The 2023 nominees for this class are Brendan Toner, Wayne Kavanagh, and Megan Loxam.

The Sport Builder class acknowledges an individual who has demonstrated excellent dedication and longstanding service in creating a membership, group, or sporting occasion. The particular person’s efforts ought to have resulted in a constructive, developmentally applicable impression on coaches and athletes. The 2023 nominees for this class are Dutche Iannetti, Orville Revidad, and Robert Glanville.

Commercial 8

Article content material

The Unsung Hero class acknowledges the achievements and excellent contributions made by a volunteer to their neighborhood. The volunteer’s contribution ought to have made a constructive distinction within the lives of others by offering assist and encouragement, usually with self-sacrifice and with out private achieve. The 2023 nominees for this class are Greg Brayall, Samantha Babenek, and Jeff Kidd.

Lastly, the Group Spirit class goals to acknowledge the contribution and achievements made by a person or group. The contributions ought to profit the neighborhood within the spirit of sport and sportsmanship. The 2023 nominee for this class is Fort McKay Northern Spirits Soccer.


Postmedia is dedicated to sustaining a energetic however civil discussion board for dialogue and encourage all readers to share their views on our articles. Feedback could take as much as an hour for moderation earlier than showing on the location. We ask you to maintain your feedback related and respectful. We’ve enabled e mail notifications—you’ll now obtain an e mail in case you obtain a reply to your remark, there’s an replace to a remark thread you observe or if a person you observe feedback. Go to our Group Pointers for extra info and particulars on tips on how to alter your e mail settings.

Be part of the Dialog

Commercial 1